cks logo cks the heart logo

Submit Search




The Curé of Ars Award, established by the Seminary's Board of Trustees in 1985, honors individuals whose lives reflect the qualities of Christian dedication and service that marked the life of St. John Vianney.

St. John Vianney was a parish priest of Ars, France, and in 1929, Pope Pius XI named him the patron of parish priests that they might emulate the compassion and self-giving of this simple man.

This award is presented annually to persons or organizations whose qualities include a particular attention to healing those in need of God's reconciling love, a willingness to contribute their gifts towards pastoral care - especially for the needy and poor - and a commitment to the Church as a primary instrument of the divine-human encounter.  Charity, special attention to the poor, ecclesial commitment, an integrity and simplicity of life, and a history of enriching the local Catholic community with leadership - these are among the standards of excellence sought for in each recipient.

Past Recipients of the Curé of Ars Award
1985  Most Rev. Edward D. Head, D.D.
1986  Mrs. Joseph F. Klausman
1987  Most Rev. Bernard J. McLaughlin, D.D.
1988  His Eminence John Cardinal O’Connor
1989  Rev. Msgr. John J. Conniff
1990  Very Rev. James M. Demske, S.J.
         Rev. Msgr. Paul R. Juenker
1991  Rev. Msgr. Eugene H. Selbert
         Most Rev. Donald W. Trautman
1992  Rev. Msgr. Leo E. Hammerl
         Rev. Msgr. Dino J. Lorenzetti
1993  Sister Angela Bontempo, D.C.
         Most Rev. Stanislaus J. Brzana
1994  Rev. Msgr. John Lodge McHugh
         Dr. & Mrs. Arthur J. Schaefer
1995  Mr. & Mrs. Norman Dusel
         Rev. Msgr. Raymond F. Paa
1996  Mr. William J. Lawley
         Rev. Msgr. Robert C. Wurtz
1997  Dr. Donald L. Hayes
         Rev. Msgr. Rupert A. Wright
1998  Sister M. Tiburtia Gorecki, F.S.S.J.
         Mr. Paul W. Joy
         Rev. Msgr. William J. McDonnell
1999  Miss Joyce E. Fink
         Rev. Msgr. Gerard L. Green
2000  Rev. Msgr. Richard T. Nugent
         Sister Denise A. Roche, G.N.S.H., Ph.D.
2001  Rev. Msgr. Angelo M. Caligiuri
         Mr. Joseph J. Castiglia
2002  Mr. & Mrs. William E. Swan 
         Rev. Msgr. Francis G. Weldgen
2003  Rev. Msgr. John W. Zeitler
         Mr. & Mrs. James V. Glynn
2004  Rev. Msgr. W. Jerome Sullivan, J.C.D.
         Sister M. Johnice Rzadkiewicz, C.S.S.F.
2005  Most Rev. Henry J. Mansell 
         Mrs. Karen E. Penfold
2006  Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, C.M.
         Mr. Eugene P. Vukelic
2007  Most Rev. Edward U. Kmiec
         Mrs. Ellen E. Koessler
2008  Most Rev. Robert J. Cunningham
         Mr. & Mrs. James O’Brien
2009  Most Rev. Timothy M. Dolan
         The Galasso Foundation
2010  Women Religious of Western New York
2011  Most Rev. Edward M. Grosz
         The Vincent and Harriet Palisano Foundation
2012  Rev. Msgr. Frederick D. Leising
         The Amico, Arena, and Ervolina Families